about that ‘pastor’ thing…

As many of you know, I have been quite active in the ministry for most of my adult life. But recently, I’ve taken some time away from that because of some personal reasons, most of all my health. The whole time I’ve lived in Columbia, there’s been this pull toward doing a college outreach. It’s been there, calling me, taunting me, but I never thought it would be possible without a church backing me financially or with staff.Recently, I’ve been talking with my pastor and mentor about this. He’s seen how passionate I am towards this goal, and I finally have the green light to pursue this outlet! Beginning August 7, I’ll be a pastor once again. I have a board of advisors in place, who will help shape the vision and direction of this outreach.We won’t have all the glitz and glamour of say, a Newspring location, but my hope is that students will be drawn (or at least interested) in something small and intimate. Who knows? Maybe in time, this can grow into a fully developed church…but that’s not our aim right now. The goal is to reach college students and give them a place to learn the Bible and ask questions.

Please pray for my family. This will be an adjustment for them. Since the group plans to meet on Sunday evening, it will mean a change in our routine (a big deal with special needs families). I’ll use this space to share updates until I can build a new page. Also, while my personal blog will remain”fanboy pastor”, you might notice my avatar and display name change to reflect this change. Thank you all for your support.

Published by:

fanboypastor

The Fanboy Pastor is a teacher, writer, blogger, comedian, and sometimes a pastor. I've served in several churches in many different capacities from youth pastor to college minister to janitor to sound guy to website maintenance to (very briefly) senior pastor. I live in Columbia, SC with my wife and 2 children, whom I home school.

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “about that ‘pastor’ thing…”

Leave a comment